Gluten Free Thursday: Let Them Eat Cake!

Flourless Chocolate Torte

We’ve come a long way!

Ten years ago Betty Crocker did NOT have a gluten free cake mix on the shelf at the grocery store. Five years ago WalMart did NOT have a gluten free pasta on their shelves. There was no such thing as a gluten free pretzel. A little local gluten free cafe was my source for gluten free experiments. Monica owned the place and went as far as making on demand gluten free corn dogs for me. A little bite of heaven.

Birthday cake
was a big deal to me.

Suddenly I felt excluded from most celebrations by my inability to partake of the sacred frosting coated confection that symbolized our united joy at the birth of my friends and loved ones. Or maybe I was just really sad that I couldn’t have a piece of cake while everyone else had smears of multicolored sugar on their lips.

Then, I discovered the cake that no one could resist. Flourless. Three ingredients. Rich, thick, and decadent. The flourless chocolate torte became my celebratory safe haven.

It honestly has 3 ingredients:

8 large eggs, cold
1 pound bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
1/2 pound of butter (two sticks), cut into 1/2-inch chunks

This has been my go to recipe since Shauna’s post in September of 2005.  It is so easy you will weep.  It is so far beyond delicious people will think you are a genius in the kitchen.

I began making this every time anyone had a birthday.  I would jump up and down excitedly volunteering to bake because if I made the cake I knew it was safe for me to celebrate.  No one seemed to mind.  This cake is that good.

Now – I didn’t think it could get any better.

It got better.

I had volunteered to bake a cake for a friend.  He was, of course, happy to oblige.  Then  he asked me a question.

“Can you make it mint chocolate?”

Oh my.  I headed to the store and simply replaced the bittersweet chocolate in the recipe with the Andes mint chocolate chips.  But I had extra chips.  And 2 pints of vanilla frozen custard.

SO… I chopped the extra chips and mixed them into softened custard.  When the cake was finished I filled the top of the springform pan with the softened custard and put the whole thing in the freezer.

It was over the top.  A very merry unbirthday, indeed.

Could it get better again?  Yes.

For my partners birthday he wanted my torte and her cheesecake.  We put our heads, and our cakes together, creating a layered birthday cake that all at once took you to Nirvana and nearly left you there from sugar shock.

The variations on this recipe are endless.  Take it.  Play with it.  Enjoy it.

Just don’t try to replace the chocolate with butterscotch chips.  Just trust me on that one.

That’s it for Gluten Free Thursday!  I hope that I have brought something new and amazing to your table.  Let me know if you create a variation on this recipe.  I’d love to hear about your experiments.

Tune in tomorrow to see what I’ve come up with for Fit Friday!  Til then, if you are interested in learning how you can make money working from home on the internet please click here and I’ll get you started with some training.  When you decide to get started I will be in touch to schedule your first personal coaching session.

Let me help you take control of your life.
Live up to your OWN expectations.
Make the decision to free yourself.

I’m waiting for you!

Prosperity Coach
<3 Sasha Lynn
Proseperity Coach

Click here to work directly with me.

Poet, Artist, Writer, Novelist, Photographer, Mommy, Domestic Partner, Tender of the Earth, and Conduit of Love and Abundance Come like me on Facebook www.facebook.com/lovesashalynn

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Cooking, Gluten Free Thursday

Leave a Reply

No Guts…No Story
“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ~ Sylvia Plath
Sasha Lynn


Dreamer
Flickr Photos
Everything is coming through winter nicely. #garden2014

Everything is coming through winter nicely. #garden2014

Everything is coming through winter nicely. #garden2014

More Photos
Community

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

