Gluten Free Thursday: A World Without Quesadillas

A World Without QuesadillasAfter a decade of living gluten free I can honestly say that I hardly ever realize that I’m different anymore. I’ve grown into a comfortable space. I’m not embarrassed to make a fuss at restaurant to be sure that my food is safe. I easily turn down invitations to home cooked meals that I’m unsure of – which is most of them. I don’t feel ostracized. I am well loved, understood, and taken care of by my friends. At the grocery store I have a well worn list of foods in my head that are staples in my kitchen. I don’t have to read many labels because I buy very few foods that require them. Sticking to whole unprocessed foods really does help.

I have to share something with you, though.
And maybe it’s silly that I didn’t know this,
but if you don’t know it and you’ve been suffering
without them you’ll thank me for sure.

A few years ago I was lamenting in dramatic fashion to one of my best friends that I just wasn’t sure that a life without quesadillas was worth living. He summarily agreed. Then he asked why this was a problem. I answered that the world just hadn’t come up with any reasonably edible gluten free facsimile of a flour tortilla yet.

He scoffed.

“You white people,” he said in the most endearingly sardonic way only a sarcastic person of half Mexican half German descent can get away with.  ”You crazy white people making your quesadillas with white flour tortillas.  Traditionally they are made with corn!  You people will try to sneak that white flour into anything!”

“What? Are you SERIOUS?
Why didn’t I EVER THINK OF THAT?”

I was 100% embarrassed by my own lack of creativity.

Our friendship being what it is, he ran out the door to the grocery store.  He came back and took over my kitchen and spent the evening delivering me plate after plate of quesadillas stuffed with fillings I had never even imagined.  Not only had I never thought to make them with corn tortillas, but I really was stuck in some one trick pony world of cheese and chicken.

Cream cheese and strawberry preserve quesadillas?
Dios mio!  I could’ve died happy right then.

So, if you are suffering without your white flour quesadillas, suffer no more.  Grab yourself some corn tortillas and break out of this crazy Caucasian box of cheese and chicken.  Stuff those things with whatever you have.

My 3 year old loves pizzadillas:

  • mozzarella
  • pepperoni
  • black olives
  • garlic salt

I love doing them greek style:

  • feta cheese
  • sundried tomatoes
  • olives

And a short list of possibilities from the Sardonic Chef himself:

  • guacamole
  • pico de gallo
  • small chunks o’ chicken
  • fried onions
  • BACON (crispy, not Not Crispy)
  • jalapeno jelly
  • scallops
  • teeny shrimp
  • leftover steak chopped into wee bits and lightly fried
  • a nice horseradish sauce (as opposed to a disagreeable one)

So, please, treat yourself to some gluten free corn tortillas stuffed with something delicious.  I thought life without quesadillas wasn’t worth living before? Well, now I know it isn’t.  My eternal thanks to the Sardonic Chef for making my life worth living again.

That’s it for Gluten Free Thursday!  I know the alliteration really fell apart on today’s title. I’ll have to practice my alliteration on you tomorrow for Fit Friday!

 

❤ Sasha Lynn

Poet, Artist, Writer, Novelist, Photographer, Mommy, Domestic Partner, Tender of the Earth, and Conduit of Love and Abundance Come like me on Facebook www.facebook.com/lovesashalynn

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Cooking, Gluten Free Thursday

Leave a Reply

No Guts…No Story
“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ~ Sylvia Plath
Sasha Lynn


Dreamer
Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

