Silent Sunday: The Best Way To Learn

doorway4x4blog

I spent a year of my life taking self portraits every day.

It was an interesting  switch in gears from writing.  There are no words.  Everything you want to convey has to be captured in a single frame.  Every layer and nuance of the moment has to be portrayed to the observer within a border.  I grew so much as a person by taking these pictures.  Observing myself through the lens of my camera showed me some sides of myself that I was previously unaware of.  I became acutely aware of my moods and behavior and how it appeared from the outside.  I became comfortable with my own face and learned to love my flaws as a unique expression of the imperfect human that I am.

Some days I took hundreds of photos
before I finally got what I wanted.

I grew so much as a photographer by practicing my craft intensely every day for a year.  I can see no better way to learn what you want to do than to actually do what you want to do.  There is a serenity that comes in photography that I never experience as a writer.  The mind goes quiet as the camera bends your eye to a single moment – an expression of now that will never happen again.  Like magic you can capture that moment, and if you are lucky you can capture it in a way that takes others into the photograph and allows them to experience your moment.

Do what you want to do.

There is no reason to wait until you can take a class or read a book.  If you want to paint or write or sing or take pictures or learn to play the guitar – you can do that.  You don’t have to have fancy materials to start.  You can sculpt your mash potatoes and finger paint with condiments.  There is a unique expression of you that wants to come out and play.  Give in to your voice and let it speak your message to the world in whatever medium is calling you.  You will experience yourself in new and magical ways.  You will find that you have amazing powers within that you never thought existed.  You can do anything that you want to do.

You don’t need words to send a message.

I would love to see examples of your art.  I would love to hear your message to the world –whatever that message might be.  If you feel moved to work your magic on the world and use your innate powers of creation – and you would like an audience – I am here to see it.  I believe in you.

That’s it for Silent Sunday.  It’s late and I’m off for some quiet family time before another week begins.  Thank you for listening.  It really does mean the world to me.  Tune in tomorrow for Mycology Monday.

Poet, Artist, Writer, Novelist, Photographer, Mommy, Domestic Partner, Tender of the Earth, and Conduit of Love and Abundance Come like me on Facebook www.facebook.com/lovesashalynn

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Photography, Silent Sunday

Leave a Reply

No Guts…No Story
“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ~ Sylvia Plath
Sasha Lynn


Dreamer
Flickr Photos
Love is the law. <3 #love #loveisthelaw #lovelovelove #loveyou

My best friend D is a Posh consultant. I've had so much fun hanging out with her, sniffing our hands and smearing stuff on our faces I decided I wanted to be a consultant, too. My skin loves these products and I feel good enough about them that I smear th

I'm wondering what happens to the almonds after they milk them. #plantmilk #nutmilk @califiafarms

More Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

