Fit Friday: The Need To Move And Groove

ImageAs we discussed last week, when you are trying to stay motivated to move your body, often it’s better to approach it from an angle that you enjoy.  I know I was in the best shape of my life was when I was going out dancing every weekend.  I thought it was funny that these researchers are just figuring out what my favorite DJs have known for a very long time.

“Rhythm response is tied to the beats per minute (bpm) of the song and how well it matches either the cadence or the heartbeat of the runner.”

“Karageorghis found that when our hearts are performing at between 30 and 70 percent of maximum, we prefer a somewhat linear increase from 90 to 120 bpm. However, when we reach our anaerobic threshold between 70 and 80 percent of maximum, we prefer a jump in rhythm from 120 to 150 bpm. Above 80 percent of maximum heart rate, a plateau is reached where even faster music is not preferred.”

read  the full article here

I won’t pretend to know exactly what they are talking about here, but it sounds a lot like listening to the DJs organizing their sets to bring the beat up and back down over the course of the night.  I think that these researchers could have saved a lot of time and research dollars by heading to the rave scene.

That said, last week we covered one enjoyable idea for moving our behinds off the sofa.  Here is another one.  And this one could potentially be used to get you in the mood for the one from last week.  Twofer!

Get up and DANCE!

Whether it’s a country bar, a night club, a concert, or a drum circle, there’s a place to suit any taste.  You, too, can get your groove on.  Some days I don’t get any further than the kitchen before a tune catches me and my butt is wigglin’.  My three year old requested music while we were doing yoga the other day and I turned on a middle eastern techno station on Pandora.  We ended up belly dancing our way through downward dog.  I won’t pretend it was pretty, but it sure was a lot of fun.  The point is if you don’t want to go out you can just put on your favorite music and get moving while you clean your house.  It is guaranteed to put a smile on your face when those endorphins kick in (Visualize scenes from Flash Dance and Risky Business here.  Smiling?  Yeah.  I thought so.).

Whatever exercise you decide to do music will help.

The research in the linked article really concludes that we increase our threshold for activity by listening to music.  Increasing that threshold is the key to squeezing in more activity.  They were running.  I’m going to dance.  I find that smiling also increases my threshold for activity.  I might take a 20 minute run, but I can dance all night long.

That’s it for Fit Friday.  It IS Friday, after all!  I need to find a place to DANCE.  It may turn out to be my kitchen, but it’s ON.  Tune in tomorrow for Susatinable Saturday!

❤ Sasha Lynn

Poet, Artist, Writer, Novelist, Photographer, Mommy, Domestic Partner, Tender of the Earth, and Conduit of Love and Abundance Come like me on Facebook www.facebook.com/lovesashalynn

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fit Friday, Health, Wholeness

Leave a Reply

No Guts…No Story
“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ~ Sylvia Plath
Sasha Lynn


Dreamer
Flickr Photos
Love is the law. <3 #love #loveisthelaw #lovelovelove #loveyou

My best friend D is a Posh consultant. I've had so much fun hanging out with her, sniffing our hands and smearing stuff on our faces I decided I wanted to be a consultant, too. My skin loves these products and I feel good enough about them that I smear th

I'm wondering what happens to the almonds after they milk them. #plantmilk #nutmilk @califiafarms

More Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

