Meditations by Marcus Aurelius

When you arise in the morning,
think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive –
to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.
~ Marcus Aurelius ~

___________________________________________

Brian Johnson’s PhilosophersNotes have been one of the key tools in my own personal development and discovery of joy and gratitude in my life.  Click the banner below and check out his free audio samples – especially The Four Agreements – even if you have read it, being able to relive the key points in that book while you are driving to work is a great gift.

PhilosophersNotes - More Wisdom in Less Time

___________________________________________

 Meditations by Marcus Aurelius

Meditations by Marcus AureliusFrom Amazon:
A new translation of the philosophical journey that has inspired luminaries from Matthew Arnold to Bill Clinton

Written by an intellectual Roman emperor, the Meditations offer a wide range of spiritual reflections developed as the leader struggled to understand himself and the universe. Marcus Aurelius covers topics as diverse as the question of virtue, human rationality, the nature of the gods, and his own emotions, spanning from doubt and despair to conviction and exaltation.

More about Meditations at Amazon

___________________________________________

Who was Marcus Aurelius?

Marcus Aurelius

Marcus Aurelius (Latin: Marcus Aurelius Antoninus Augustus; 26 April, 121 AD – 17 March, 180 AD), was a Roman Emperor from 161 to 180. He ruled with Lucius Verus as co-emperor from 161 until Verus’ death in 169. He was the last of the Five Good Emperors, and is also considered one of the most important Stoic philosophers.

Marcus Aurelius’ Stoic tome Meditations, written in Greek while on campaign between 170 and 180, is still revered as a literary monument to a philosophy of service and duty, describing how to find and preserve equanimity in the midst of conflict by following nature as a source of guidance and inspiration.

More on Marcus Aurelius at Wikipedia

___________________________________________

My Thoughts

S.L.HurlockAccept the things to which fate binds you,
and love the people with whom fate brings you together,
but do so with all your heart.

~ Marcus Aurelius ~

Some days the whole world seems to be infected with the idea that the grass is greener elsewhere.  The messages from the TV, billboards  and radio all suggest that we are lacking.  That we should be wanting more. More.  MORE!

The truth of the matter, as it has occurred in my life, over and over again is that – if anything is lacking it is within me.  Changing my car, my house, or my romantic partner has never yielded any results on its own.  Changing the color or cut of my hair has never changed the way I feel for more than a passing moment.

Changing my heart and my mind and understanding that I can choose to be grateful for every breath I take .  The people in my life, regardless of their demeanor in any moment, are the ones that I have arrived before.  I can choose to love them in that moment and let them be as they are, or I can run from every challenge until I’m gasping for air.

Being in the stillness of now, and really appreciating that we are all part of a greater whole, loving myself in this moment is the same as loving everyone.  Loving my child, and my partner, my crazy dog, and my noisy neighbor next door – this is the opportunity I have been given in this moment to be the light.

I choose to shine now, wherever I find myself, rather than waiting in darkness.

Thank you for your gracious ear.

___________________________________________

Poet, Artist, Writer, Novelist, Photographer, Mommy, Domestic Partner, Tender of the Earth, and Conduit of Love and Abundance Come like me on Facebook www.facebook.com/lovesashalynn

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

No Guts…No Story
“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ~ Sylvia Plath
Sasha Lynn


Dreamer
Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

